Fender®

Today Show Kicks off Toyota Concert Series

The Today Show’s Toyota Summer Concert Series kicked off this morning with Fender’s artist Sting performing at Rockefeller Center in New York.

Backed by the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra, Sting performed some of his classic Police hits, including “Every Little Thing She Does is “Magic” and “Roxeanne,” as well as Nothing Like the Sun’s “Englishman in New York.”

“I always want my fans to be surprised by whatever I do,” Sting told Meredith Vieira in regards to the new arrangements. “That’s the whole element – surprise and novelty, all about it.”

Sting also explained that his upcoming tour with the orchestra came about after a one-night performance in 2009 with the Chicago Symphony.

“They asked me to do an hour and a half of my own music for an orchestra,” said Sting. “I had never thought of that before. It worked so well. I loved it; The musicians loved it; The audience loved it. I thought, ‘Let’s take it on the road.’”

Future Toyota Concert Series acts:

• Friday, May 21 – The Script
• Friday, May 28 – OneRepublic
• Thursday, June 3 – ‘American Idol’ winner and runner-up
• Friday, June 4 – Justin Bieber
• Tuesday, June 8 – Christina Aguilera
• Friday, June 11 – Rascal Flatts
• Friday, June 18 – James Taylor & Carole King
• Friday, June 25 – Maxwell
• Friday, July 2- Maroon 5
• Friday, July 9 – Lady Gaga
• Friday, July 16 – Enrique Iglesias
• Friday, July 23 – John Mayer
• Friday, July 30 – Carrie Underwood
• Friday, August 6 – Train
• Friday, August 13 – Ke$ha
• Friday, August 20 – Keith Urban
• Friday, August 27 – Katy Perry

Tags:

Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »