Springsteen 'Promises' Previously Unreleased Recordings on Nov. 16


Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band will release The Promise: Darkness On the Edge of Town Story box set on Nov. 16.

The deluxe package comprises over six hours of film and more than two hours of audio across three CDs and three DVDs. The media contents are packaged within an 80-page notebook containing facsimiles from Springsteen’s original notebooks from the recording sessions, which include alternate lyrics, song ideas, recording details, and personal notes, in addition to a new essay by Springsteen and never-before-seen photographs. Containing a wealth of previously unreleased material, The Promise: The Darkness on the Edge of Town Story offers an unprecedented look into Springsteen’s creative process during a defining moment in his career.

The three CDS include the digitally remastered Darkness On The Edge of Town and The Promise, which features 21 previously-unreleased songs from the Darkness recording sessions spread out over two CDs.

The previously unheard song “Save My Love” is streaming now at www.BruceSpringsteen.net.

The deluxe package also features a documentary directed by Grammy-and Emmy Award-winning filmmaker Thom Zimny. The 90-minute film combines never-before-seen footage of Springsteen and the E Street Band shot between 1976 and 1978—including home rehearsals and studio sessions—with new interviews with Springsteen, E Street Band members, manager Jon Landau, former manager Mike Appel, and others closely involved in the making of the record.

The documentary will debut at the Toronto Film Festival on Sept. 14 and on HBO Oct. 7, but here’s a sneak peek.


Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »