Keith Urban Releases Get Closer

Keith Urban Releases Get Closer

November 16, 2010

Three-time Grammy-award winning country superstar Keith Urban today releases his sixth studio effort, Get Closer.

The album follows two previous consecutive Billboard country and pop #1 albums, as well as five previous solo efforts that have all been certified platinum or multi-platinum. His last effort, 2009′s Defying Gravity, spun off five top five hits, including the chart-toppers “Sweet Thing” and “Only You Can Love Me This Way,” bringing his total of #1 songs to 11. His newest single from Get Closer, “Put You In A Song,” currently stands at #14 on the Billboard Country Singles Chart.

Purchase Get Closer here.

“I’ve always loved songs about ‘the guy in love with the unattainable girl’,” said Urban of the album’s debut single. “And the idea that the only chance that this poor guy is ever going to have to get close to the object of his affection is to put her in a song, just struck me. That way he’d be able to take her with him everywhere he goes…day and night.”

On Get Closer, Urban dives even deeper into the explorations of love and relationships that have served to establish him as one of the world’s biggest country music stars — while also extending his rock & roll side, as his hard-charging guitar work reaches new heights.

“On Defying Gravity I started touching upon the theme of the courage to love,” he says. “It’s all well and good to say, ‘I can’t find anybody to love, I wish I could find someone to love.’ But do I have the courage to love? Am I willing to open my heart and give the sword to my partner and go, ‘All right, I trust you, absolutely and completely?’”

But the ambition for Get Closer is made explicit right on the cover.

“For me the title is multi-faceted,” says Urban, “because my instincts have always been to run from the things that are good for me, to run from love. I have always run from intimacy, and marriage has been a real awakening for me in looking at that very differently. That’s what the title refers to.”

Fittingly, the back album cover prominently displays Urban and wife Nicole Kidman’s wedding rings.

The general retail release of Get Closer is contained in eight songs produced with long-time collaborator Dann Huff. It blends such chugging rockers as “Long Hot Summer,” “You Gonna Fly” and “Put You in a Song,” with more emotionally complex and nuanced compositions like “Right on Back to You” and “Georgia Woods.”  

In addition, Target will be offering an enhanced version, which contains seven extra songs comprised of three additional brand new studio tracks and four live tracks taken from Urban’s Love, Pain & the Whole Crazy World tour.

But as Get Closer illustrates, rather than rely on formula, Urban continues to innovate with his music. The sound of the album expands the contrast between old and new styles that has underpinned much of his previous work. Some of the sonic experimentation, though, was the result of more than just creative ambition.

“I used a lot of new guitars this time, because all of mine got lost in the flood,” says Urban. “It was a real blessing in the end, because it got me out of my comfort zone, and I was really focused on making music, and not what we were making it with.”

“Georgia Woods,” however, features one of Urban’s tried and true guitars — a Fender Telecaster originally owned by Waylon Jennings that was remarkably spared by the Nashville floods in May 2010.

“It was submerged in water, but, luckily, the leather seemed to have protected it,” Urban told the Tennessean. “It’s a magical sounding instrument.

“With ‘Georgia Woods,’ the riffs that open the song were straight from that Telecaster, plugged into a Fender twin amp,” continued Urban. “The line, ‘What kind of spell is this you cast on me?’ comes from the simmering atmosphere of that music, and (co-writer) Darrell Scott and I took it from there. I love when that happens. It’s elusive.”

Get Closer Track Listing:

1. Put You In A Song

2. You Gonna Fly

3. All For You

4. Long Hot Summer

5. Without You

6. Georgia Woods

7. Right On Back To You

8. Shut Out The Lights


9. Big Promises

10. The Luxury Of Knowing

11. Winning

12. Once In A Lifetime

13. You Look Good In My Shirt

14. Better Life

15. Everybody






Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »