Johnny Marr Announces Details of Second Solo Album


Fender signature artist Johnny Marr will release his second solo album, Playland, on Oct. 7 via Warner Music Group.

In 2013, the legendary guitarist for the Smiths enjoyed a monumental start to his solo career with an abundance of critical acclaim (including the honor of being named NME’s ‘Godlike Genius’) for his Top 10 debut solo album The Messenger. Meanwhile, his shows were celebrated for his ability to combine the best of his new material with select highlights from the Smiths, plus others from his extensive back catalog.

Work on Playland commenced in London in spring 2014 as soon as the year of touring in support of The Messenger came to a close. It finds Marr continuing the creative connection that was forged on The Messenger with collaborator and co-producer Doviak, as well as the other musicians who performed on the album and accompanying tour.

“When The Messenger came out I kept on writing,” said Marr.”I liked that the band had a momentum going on tour and a connection with the audience, and I thought that energy would be good to capture on the new record.”

Written around a common theme of “songs that move at the speed of life,” Playland captures much of the spirit that made The Messenger so memorable with energetic, post-punk songwriting complemented by JMarr’s characteristic guitar style, thought-provoking lyrical ideas and poised vocal phrasing.

“It’s important to sound like your environment and on this record that’s London and Manchester,” he adds. “The feeling of the cities and the people make it into the music.”

The album’s title is inspired by Homo Ludens, a 1938 book by the highly influential Dutch cultural theorist Johan Huizinga, which explores the concept of play as a precursor and principal element of cultural development.

Marr recently performed an intimate live set for Fender that you can watch below.

Playland track listing:

1.) Back In The Box
2.) Easy Money
3.) Dynamo
4.) Candidate
5.) 25 Hours
6.) The Trap
7.) Playland
8.) Speak Out Reach Out
9.) Boys Get Straight
10.) This Tension
11.) Little King


Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »