Hear John Mayer's New Single

Last month, Fender signature artist John Mayer gave fans the first taste of his upcoming May 22 album, Born and Raised, with a 60-second stream of lead single “Shadow Days.”

“I’m excited to share the first bit of sound from the album,” Mayer wrote on his Tumblir page. “Been looking forward to a post like this since October 14, 2010, the first day I started writing the group of songs. Enjoy.”

The lyrics suggest that he’s been doing some reflection during his break from touring.

“I’m a good man with a good heart/Had a tough time, got a rough start,” he sings.

The full song was released to radio this week, and we’re already loving this country-tinged slow rocker.

Listen to the single, due out on iTunes March 6, below.

Mayer produced Born and Raised with Don Was, who worked on albums for acts such as the Rolling Stones, B.B. King and Bonnie Raitt. Rock legends David Crosby and Graham Nash provide vocals on the title song and musicians joining Mayer on the album and on the road include highly-regarded keyboardist/pianist Chuck Leavell—who has worked with the Rolling Stones, Eric Clapton and The Allman Brothers Band—as well as previous collaborators Sean Hurley on bass and Aaron Sterling on drums.  Jim Keltner makes a special appearance on drums on “Something Like Oliva.” Rounding out the touring band are David Ryan Harris on guitar and vocals, Doug Pettibone on guitar and Michito Sanchez on percussion.

Mayer will kick off an 18-date spring tour April 9 in Bloomington, Ind. Stops on the tour include Detroit, Providence, Buffalo, Memphis, Kansas City, Las Vegas and Phoenix. He will also be performing at South By Southwest at Stubb’s Bar-B-Q in Austin on March 17, and the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival on April 29.

Born and Raised Tracklisting:

1. Queen of California
2. The Age of Worry
3. Shadow Days
4. Speak for Me
5. Something Like Olivia
6. Born & Raised
7. If I Ever Get Around To Living
8. Love is a Verb
9. Walt Grace’s Submarine Test, January 1967
10. Whiskey, Whiskey, Whiskey
11. A Face To Call Home
12. Born & Raised (Reprise)


Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »