Guns N' Roses, Chili Peppers, Beasties Lead 2012 HOF Class

The 2012 class of Rock and Roll Hall of Famers is littered with seminal bands from the MTV generation, as Guns N’ Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers and the Beastie Boys will all be inducted.

In addition, Donovan, Laura Nyro and Small Faces/Faces earned an H.O.F. nod, Freddie King will enter the Cleveland shrine as an Early Influence, while the late TV host and producer Don Kirshner will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award as a non-performer.

Producers Cosimo Matassa, Tom Dowd and Glyn Johns will receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

The ceremony will be held April 14 at Cleveland’s Public Hall and is open to the public. Rolling Stone is also reporting that HBO will broadcast the event in May.

Guns N’ Roses are the only group to be inducted on their first year of eligibility, so a special congratulations goes out to Fender signature artist Duff McKagan.

Now, it remains to be seen whether the all-star bassist and an original lineup that hasn’t performed together since 1993 will take the stage together.

The awards show could also mark the first time Adam “MCA” Yauch performs since beating cancer.


Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »