Five-Disc Hendrix Anthology Available Nov. 16

Five-Disc Set West Coast Seattle Boy: The Jimi Hendrix Anthology Available Nov. 16
Career-spanning collection documents Hendrix’s rise from R&B sideman to world’s most electrifying guitarist

West Coast Seattle Boy: The Jimi Hendrix Anthology cover (above) and contents (below).

Images courtesy Sony Music/Legacy

West Coast Seattle Boy: The Jimi Hendrix Anthology, a new box set documenting the rise of the legendary guitarist from obscure R&B sideman to international rock superstardom, will be released Nov. 16. The set includes more than four hours of rare and previously unreleased Hendrix music and a 90-minute documentary titled Jimi Hendrix Voodoo Child.

The five-disc set (four CDs and a DVD) is not a collection of existing Hendrix albums. Rather, it presents 45 unreleased live and studio recordings, including demos and alternate versions of songs from seminal albums Are You Experienced, Axis: Bold As Love and Electric Ladyland. As such, it is a treasure trove of fresh material from all phases of Hendrix’s phenomenal but relatively brief six-year recording career.

The set includes a previously unheard version of Bob Dylan’s “Tears of Rage”; solo acoustic recordings of Electric Ladyland’s “Long Hot Summer Night” and “1983 (A Merman I Shall Turn to Be)”; previously unheard live performances from Berkeley and the legendary New Year’s Eve 1969 Band Of Gypsys Fillmore East concert; and rare Hendrix tracks such as “Hear My Freedom,” “Hound Dog Blues,” “Lonely Avenue” and others.

Of perhaps even greater interest to die-hard Hendrix fans, though, is the fact that West Coast Seattle Boy presents the most complete collection of the guitarist’s pre-Experience R&B performances to be officially anthologized. These include singles Hendrix played on with the Isley Brothers, Little Richard, Don Covay, King Curtis and others.

The included documentary film, Jimi Hendrix Voodoo Child, presents Hendrix’s life story, as told in his own words (as read by Parliament-Funkadelic bassist Bootsy Collins). The film includes Hendrix interviews and performances, and features rare and insightful previously unseen footage and photos from the Hendrix family archive, including personal letters and postcards, drawings and sketches, song drafts and lyrics.

“Who better to tell the incredible story of a man’s life than the man himself?” said Janie Hendrix, president and CEO of Experience Hendrix and co-producer of West Coast Seattle Boy: The Jimi Hendrix Anthology. “Jimi was amazing, and only his music, with tones and textures that he conjured, can capture the colorful and expansive essence of his time here on Earth. I am enthralled with this all-encompassing new anthology, which not only illuminates his years on both sides of the Atlantic and beautifully reveals his versatility as a performer, from his R&B origins to his explosion on the pop culture scene, but highlights who he was for those who knew and loved him. This vast exploration of my brother’s musical and life experiences leaves no stone unturned and is sure to broaden our understanding of who Jimi really was; not only as a legendary musician, but also as a timeless messenger of love.”

A single-disc “best of” edition of West Coast Seattle Boy: The Jimi Hendrix Anthology will also be available, with and without the Jimi Hendrix Voodoo Child DVD documentary, as will a deluxe edition with eight 12” vinyl LPs.

CD track listings for West Coast Seattle Boy: The Jimi Hendrix Anthology:

Disc One

1. Testify (1964, Isley Brothers)
2. Mercy, Mercy (1964, Don Covay & the Goodtimers)
3. Can’t Stay Away (1964, Don Covay & the Goodtimers)
4. My Diary (1965, Rosa Lee Brooks, written by Arthur Lee)
5. Utee (1965, Rosa Lee Brooks)
6. I Don’t Know What You Got But It’s Got Me (1965, Little Richard)
7. Dancing All Around the World (1965, Little Richard)
8. I’m So Glad (1966, Frank Howard & The Commanders, written by Billy Cox)
9. Move Over and Let Me Dance (1965, Isley Brothers)
10. Have You Ever Been Disappointed (1965, Isley Brothers)
11. Help Me (Get The Feeling, Part I) (1966, Ray Sharpe)
12. (My Girl) She’s A Fox (1966, the Icemen)
13. That Little Old Groovemaker (1966, Jimmy Norman)
14. Sweet Thang (1968, Billy Lamont)
15. Instant Groove (1969, King Curtis)

Disc Two

1. Fire (1967, previously unreleased alternate recording)
2. Are You Experienced (1967, previously unreleased recording)
3. May This Be Love (1967, previously unreleased alternate recording)
4. Can You See Me (1967, previously unreleased alternate recording)
5. Love or Confusion (1967, previously unreleased alternate recording)
6. Little One (1967, previously unreleased recording)
7. Mr. Bad Luck (1967, previously unreleased alternate recording)
8. Cat Talking to Me (1967, previously unreleased alternate recording)
9. Castles Made of Sand (1967, previously unreleased recording)
10. Tears of Rage (1968, previously unreleased recording)
11. Hear My Train a Comin’ (1968, previously unreleased recording)
12. 1983 (A Merman I Shall Turn to Be) (1968, previously unreleased recording)
13. Long Hot Summer Night (1968, previously unreleased recording)
14. My Friend (1968, previously unreleased recording)
15. Angel (1968, previously unreleased recording)
16. Calling All the Devil’s Children (1968, previously unreleased recording)
17. New Rising Sun (1968, previously unreleased alternate recording)

Disc Three

1. Hear My Freedom (1968, previously unreleased recording)
2. Room Full of Mirrors (1969, previously unreleased recording)
3. Shame, Shame, Shame (1969, previously unreleased recording)
4. Messenger (1968, previously unreleased recording)
5. Hound Dog Blues (1969, previously unreleased recording)
6. Untitled Basic Track (1968, previously unreleased recording)
7. Star Spangled Banner (1969, previously unreleased original mix)
8. Purple Haze (1969, previously unreleased original mix)
9. Young/Hendrix (1969, previously unreleased alternate recording)
10. Mastermind (1969, previously unreleased recording)
11. Message to Love (1969, previously unreleased alternate recording)
12. Fire (1969, previously unreleased recording)
13. Foxey Lady (1969, previously unreleased recording)

Disc Four

1. Stone Free (1969, previously unreleased recording)
2. Burning Desire (1970, previously unreleased recording)
3. Lonely Avenue (1969, previously unreleased recording)
4. Everlasting First (1970, previously unreleased alternate recording)
5. Freedom (1970, previously unreleased recording)
6. Peter Gunn/Catastrophe (1970, previously unreleased alternate recording)
7. In From the Storm (1970, previously unreleased alternate recording)
8. All God’s Children (1970, previously unreleased recording)
9. Red House (1970, previously unreleased recording)
10. Play That Riff (Thank You) (1970, previously unreleased recording)
11. Bolero (1970, previously unreleased alternate recording)
12. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun) (previously unreleased alternate recording)
13. Suddenly November Morning (1970, previously unreleased recording)


Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »