Details on Ray Davies New Album

Picture 6

Ray Davies new album See My Friends will be released in the United Kingdom on Nov. 1, hitting U.S. shelves a week later.

On this one of a kind album, the Kinks lead singer revisits his back catalog by collaborating with formidable artists to create a diversion collection of material.

Highlights include “Better Things” with Bruce Springsteen, “You Really Got Me” with Metallica (see a clip from the recording studio below) and “A Long Way from Home” with Lucinda Williams.

“This project came about almost by accident,” says Davies of the project, which was kick-started when he recorded “Till The End Of The Day” in the summer of 2009 with the late great Big Star/Boxtops singer Alex Chilton.

“With some tracks I had to appreciate the style of the other artists, otherwise it would have sounded unbalanced. And I wanted the album to work as an entire listening experience but each track had a life of its own,” he explains.

Davies happily went where the music took him in every sense:  Germany and Belgium to record with Metallica, New York to record with Jon Bon Jovi, New Jersey for Bruce Springsteen, Chicago for Billy Corgan from Smashing Pumpkins and his own north London base, the legendary KONK studios, for much of the rest.

“This record is well-travelled already,” he says.

Paloma Faith, Jackson Browne, Black Francis of the Pixies, Amy MacDonald and Spoon are also featured on the record.

Tracklisting below:
1. Better Things – Ray Davies & Bruce Springsteen
2. Celluloid Heroes – Ray Davies, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora
3. Days/This Time Tomorrow – Ray Davies & Mumford & Sons
4. Long Way From Home – Ray Davies, Lucinda Williams & The 88
5. You Really Got Me – Ray Davies & Metallica
6. Lola Ray – Davies & Paloma Faith
7. Waterloo Sunset – Ray Davies & Jackson Browne
8. ‘Til The End of The Day – Ray Davies, Alex Chilton & The 88
9. Dead End Street – Ray Davies & Amy Macdonald
10. See My Friends Ray Davies & Spoon
11. This Is Where I Belong – Ray Davies & Black Francis
12. David Watts – Ray Davies & The 88
13. Tired Of Waiting – Ray Davies & Gary Lightbody (Snow Patrol)
14. All Day And All Of The Night/Destroyer – Ray Davies & Billy Corgan


Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »