Clapton’s New Album Due out March 12

Old Sock

March 12 will usher in the release of Old Sock, Eric Clapton’s 21st studio album and his first since 2010. Produced by Clapton, Doyle Bramhall II, Justin Stanley and Simon Climie, Old Sock features two new original songs “Every Little Thing” and “Gotta Get Over.”

The new album is a collection of some of Clapton’s favorite songs spanning from his childhood to present day that highlight his vast appreciation and knowledge of music. From Leadbelly to J.J. Cale; Peter Tosh to George Gershwin; Hank Snow to Gary Moore and Taj Mahal, this record is a celebration of so many who have inspired Clapton’s rich musical life. Clapton has always had a remarkable ability to recognize great songs and a gift for knowing how to uniquely interpret them, as he does on Old Sock. The album explores romantic standards of the 1930s, reggae, soul, rock, and includes a standout playful collaboration with Paul McCartney, to create an experience that is quintessential Clapton.

Clapton assembled a band for the recordings consisting of longtime collaborators Steve Gadd (drums), Willie Weeks (bass) and Chris Stainton (keyboards) along with some surprise guest additions. JJ Cale joins the song “Angel” for backing vocals and guitar, Chaka Khan joins as backing vocalist for “Get On Over,” Steve Winwood is featured on the Hammond B3 Organ on “Still Got The Blues,” Paul McCartney guests on bass/vocals on “All of Me,” and Jim Keltner joins on drums for “Our Love is Here To Stay.”

Pre-order Old Sock here.



1. Further On Down The Road
2. Angel
3. The Folks Who Live On The Hill
4. Gotta Get Over
5. Till Your Well Runs Dry
6. All Of Me
7. Born To Lose
8. Still Got The Blues
9. Goodnight Irene
10. Your One and Only Man
11. Every Little Thing
12. Our Love Is Here To Stay


Leave a reply

Have a question?
Please direct your questions to consumerrelations@fender.com or visit the Fender Forums.

comments powered by Disqus

« Previous Post Next Post »